Training – Week 2 & 3

January 27, 2009

It has been a long week for me. Sorry for the late update as I wasn’t back home for almost 2 weeks due to my working shifts. I was on morning shift last week (7 a.m till 3 p.m)at Main Kitchen. It was my first week there and I met with more chefs who are very nice and helpful. I learned to handle big pots and pans which are kind of heavy for me but so far everything is fine. And yeah, I made poh piah for guests on my first day at Main for the buffet lunch. It was fun and exciting! On the second day, I fried pasta and the following day I learned to make Mongolian stir-fry. It was great to see people enjoyed the food you made and I really don’t mind standing there and serve although my legs were tired. I still have another 2 weeks to go at Main Kitchen. I will learn as much as I can *grins*

My finger is completely healed. Thanks for the wishes and concern. This was how it looks like 2 weeks ago.

My injured my left index finger nail

Let me introduce you briefly about The View Restaurant at EQ Hotel, the place where I underwent my training 2 weeks ago. This fine dining restaurant showcases authentic French cuisine that is complemented by majestic scenery of the island’s coastline that can be viewed through the entire length of the 10-metre windows. They serve luxurious ala carte for both semi buffet lunch and semi buffet dinner. I love seeing the dessert and entree presentation which comes in mini portion but full of creativity. The way Chef Palani presents them simply opens our guests’ appetite. Some of them are too cute and nicely presented to be eaten. Haha! Anyway, here’s the compliments to all the chefs (Chef Looi, Chef Palani, Chef Fahmy, Dwayne, Charles, Chan, Fikri), Mr. Renny, Ray and the rest who have guided me and taught me alot *wink*

With Chef Palani

From left: Chef Fahmy, Charles, San, Chan and Dwayne

The View Restaurant

Entree buffet line

Gravlax

Oysters, scallops and prawns

And the closed-up..

For entree

Artichoke bottom with tempenade and quail egg

Chicken roll with caramelized red cabbage

Cauiflower and tomato with Parmesan cheese dressing

Salmon roll with cream cheese

Mozarella cheese topped with eggplant salad

Boiled potatoes served with sour cream and caviar

Tabbouleh

Scallop salad

Spicy chicken roll

Tuna and heart of palm topped with sour cream and caviar

Potato salad

Grilled lamb loin with brown lentils

Rice salad

For ala carte

Baked lobster

Grilled mixed seafood

Lamb chop

Grilled tenderloin

Foie Gras

Lamb shank

For dessert

My favourite corner. Haha!

Macaroons

Mini opera cake

Cheese cake

Chocolate moist swiss roll with peppermint cream

Cream caramel

For those of you who wish to dine in:
Monday – Friday, Lunch 12 noon – 2.30 pm
Monday – Saturday, Dinner 6.30 pm – 10.00 pm
Closed on Public Holidays

I would also like to take this opportunity to wish a very blessed Chinese New Year to all my Chinese fellow readers! May this year bring you abundance of joy, good health and success!


One Response to “Training – Week 2 & 3”

  1. whojen Says:

    Nicenice:D can;t wait for you to cook that for me!
    \hhahhaa:D


Leave a Reply

