Lemon Poppyseeds Chiffon Cake

October 5, 2008

It has been a while since I last baked a cake. This time, I wanted to try something new and I came upon this recipe from Happy Home Baking. I was keen to give it a try as I have a bottle of poppy seeds and a leftover lemon sitting in the fridge. Following the recipe closely, I thought I would success, but when I removed the cake from the oven, it sank immediately (from almost 5cm height to 2cm height!). I think the eggs that I used were slightly bigger thus contained more liquid. As a result, the texture was not fluffy and it’s dense.

Lemon Poppyseeds Chiffon Cake Recipe

(A)

2 egg yolks

20g caster sugar

20ml cooking oil

2 tbsp lemon juice

some lemon zest

1 1/2 tsp poppy seeds

30g self-raising flour

1 tbsp milk powder

…………………………………………………………………………………………

(B)

2 egg whites

1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar

40g caster sugar

Method

(A)

1. Beat egg yolks and sugar in a mixing bowl till sugar dissolved.

2. Add in cooking oil, lemon juice and lemon zest. Whisk till well combined.

3. Add in poppy seeds and stir to combine.

4. Sift in flour and milk powder into batter and fold gently until fully incorporated.

(B)

1. In a clean and dry mixing bowl, whisk egg whites and cream of tartar until fluffy.

2. Add in sugar in 3 separate additions and continue beating at high speed till stiff peak is formed.

3. Fold (B) into (A) gently. (*Do not over mixed)

4. Pour batter into baking pan. (*Sprinkle pan with water and do not grease it)

5. Bake at 170 degrees C for approximately 20 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the center comes out clean.

6. Remove from oven and invert pan immediately.

7. Let it cool completely then unmold gently.

5 Responses to “Lemon Poppyseeds Chiffon Cake”

  1. Anh Says:

    The cake looks so moist and soft!

  2. mysweetestday Says:

    i don’t like lemon, but for some reason i really want to try out this recipe. you make it look that good!

  3. hooisanlai Says:

    mysweetestday – Thanks. Hope you like it šŸ™‚

    Anh – Yes it is! šŸ™‚

  4. marisa Says:

    mmm…I made this, but I changed a couple things, because I didn’t have all the ingredients. I used maple syrup instead of sugar and butter instead of oil (adjusting for the substitution both times of course)

    it was lovely!


Leave a Reply

