Grape Tarts and Ginger Cookies

August 10, 2008

Baking at home is fun. You get to experience doing everything on your own and this is where you learn. Before I entered culinary school, I was quite afraid to bake because whenever I attempt to do something, the thing ruins either in the midst or at the end result. But for now, I guess no matter what the outcome is, I just want to continue doing it till I achieve it. Patience is the key to success and never ever give up!

This week, I made ginger cookies and fruit tart. I was keen in making egg tart actually but I ended up with grape tarts coz I saw some leftover grapes in the fridge. And seriously, the ginger cookies are made from a ginger cake recipe but I don’t know why it’s crispy and it’s more like a cookie. So, I might as well call them cookies. Haha.

Grape tarts

Ginger cookies

Crispy texture

5 Responses to “Grape Tarts and Ginger Cookies”


  1. wow, they look nice. I tried making lycee tarts yesterday and they didnt go well. I could not get the pastry right. Hope yours taste better than mine:)

  2. hooisanlai Says:

    Thanks Fortesfidelis 🙂
    Here’s my rich short crust pastry recipe here : https://laihooisan.wordpress.com/2008/07/11/fruit-tart/

    Hope it will help you 😀

  3. buzzingbee Says:

    The crust I made is still not half as presentable as yours. *sob*

    Need more practice…but who’s gonna eat it?? Hahahaa

  4. hooisanlai Says:

    Bee, at first I thought my crust would not work also because it kept breaking when I tried to roll it out. Then I used my fingers to press them on the mould. Haha. You make d give to Kim. Bet she will be happy 😀

  5. sonia Says:

    Pastas are few of my favorites food. Eaten with a sauce or stir fried, these dishes can satify any hungry person of all ages. Happy cooking and washing up!!


Leave a Reply

