First Day at Culinary School

July 8, 2008

I started! It’s my first day at CAC (Culinary Art Centre) today and the good news? It’s all about cooking! A shift from my usual reading of food blogs, cookbooks, and cook magazines. It is truly an eye opener for me. By the way, for those of you who do not know about this, I am currently taking a diploma in professional chef training (for one year) and at the same time, I still working at Megan Ads as a designer.

People have been asking me what am I going to do after this. Am I going to open a restaurant or a cafe in future? Oh well, I used to think about that but working in food industry isn’t that easy. To me, I just want to make good use of this opportunity to learn what I like and what lies ahead is in His hands. I believe this opportunity do not happen by accident but He has planned for me. Praise God πŸ˜€

Actually, I was quite nervous today when I met a couple of them who actually have experiences. Some of them have experience in cooking, one of them have experience working as a waitress, and one of my group member is working in a restaurant. She has been working there for about 8 years! They looked confident during the practical session where we were thought to peel and cut potatoes. I was so-so la. My hands were unstable coz I seldom do that at home. So, have to practise more.

My lecturer’s name is Bruce Lee. He is a funny person. Today, he gave us some brief introduction about the school, the rules and regulations and about being a chef as a career. He talked about our practical training too. We will be placed in different hotels to work in the kitchen. And he thought us the 3 magic words; YES, OK, NO PROBLEM. Haha. He said, if the chef demand us to do something, just say YES, OK and NO PROB (if we say the 3 words at once it is even better, it makes the chef happy) and everything will be fine. Even if we don’t know how to do it, then say I WILL TRY.

Then we were divided into 4 groups (A, B, C and D); Group A1, Group Best, Group Champ, and Group Deli-cious. What funny names. I am in Group A1, meaning whatever we cook must be A1, no A2! Haha. My group consists of 5 people (4 girls and 1 guy). And Bruce’s motto is ‘Ladies first’. So after cooking everytime, the ladies will get to try the food first. Overall, it was fun but we have some homework to do. Have to go home and do colouring and cut potatoes. Do you know that different styles of cuttings have different names for it? I just remember Julienne which means thinly sliced and cut into strips. Haha. There are a few more. Class dismissed at 12.30pm today and tomorrow’s lesson is about pastry. Alright, guess that’s all for now and I will update you guys again.

6 Responses to “First Day at Culinary School”

  1. drey Says:

    hey!!! you look so cute lah
    good luck in culinary school.
    *hugs*

  2. hooisanlai Says:

    Thanks drey πŸ˜€ All the best in your studies too *hugs*

  3. whojen Says:

    haha chef san! πŸ˜€ wakkaka

  4. rachelting Says:

    eh eh..so fun wan… after one year make sure you cook for jen n me ya! hehehe.. πŸ™‚ 4-course dinner. soup, appetizer, main course, and of course dessert! hehehe.. ;)all the best in culinary school, chef san!

  5. Lyin Says:

    San, i think you are living my dream! ha ha.. i am suppperr jealous…i want to put on a white uniform too…

  6. hooisanlai Says:

    Haha. Come and join me πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

