Mung Bean and Longan Soup Dessert with Tang Yuan

July 6, 2010

It was Monday morning. I suddenly felt the urge of making ‘tang yuan’ with the leftover glutinous rice flour sitting in the freezer. When I opened the freezer, I noticed I have a big packet of custard powder too which I only used it for making cream puff filling. And I thought, why not mix the two flour together and see what happens.. hehe.

Usually people cook mung bean with sago, sweet potato or lotus seeds but I experimented it with some dried longans.  say the flavour blended well together. Mom used to say eating mung bean would help to reduce body heat. On the other hand, longans are heaty food. So, cooling plus heaty equals to neutral! Haha. Don’t you think so?

The tang yuan looks like ginkgo nuts to me. It’s chewy and soft while it’s hot. I like the colour combination. By the way, I don’t have the exact recipe for this dessert as I was just experimenting and throwing in the ingredients without a specific measurement. Anyway, I hope it will inspire you to cook a dessert soup today!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

