Baking with Kim and Xian

October 3, 2008

It’s Raya holiday! I was back home on Tuesday night and Kim came along with me to stay over at my place. We planned to bake on the following day. I have prepared chocolate pastry and placed it in the freezer a few days ago. But before that, I made pancakes for breakfast. Instead of normal pancakes, I added some flavours to them. Here’s what we’ve got:

From top: Cappuccino, green tea & strawberry pancakes

Let me share with you this easy pancake recipe.

Pancake Ingredients

150g plain flour

1 1/2 baking powder

70g caster sugar

200ml water

1 egg

1 tsp flavouring/essence of your choice

1/4 tsp colouring (optional)

Method

1. Sift flour and baking powder in to a mixing bowl. Add in sugar and stir it.

2. Make a hollow in the center, add egg and half of the water.

3. Stir until mixture is smooth.

4. Add in flavouring/essence and colouring.

5. While stirring, gradually add in the remaining water and beat with a whisk into a smooth batter.

6. Set aside the batter for 20 minutes.

7. Meanwhile, heat a drop of oil in a small non-stick frying pan.

8. Wipe off the oil from the pan lightly with a paper kitchen towel.

9. When pan is just hot, pour a spoonful of batter on the pan.

10. Cook over medium heat until the upper half of the pancake starts to dry.

11. Flip over and cook the other side.

12. Remove pancake onto a plate.

*You can serve your pancake with jam, honey or golden syrup with a scoop of ice-cream.

After breakfast, we rolled out and baked the chocolate pastry. Sadly, the crust didn’t turn to good. There were ‘air bubbles’ on the inner side of the crust which caused an uneven surface and they didn’t look pretty. Apart from that, they were as hard as rock! Kim couldn’t bite them coz she wears braces. Oh dear, I think I’d just stick to my old recipe and substitute some of the flour with some cocoa powder if I want to make chocolate pastry again. Anyway, we didn’t want to waste them so I came up with lemon meringue tarts and Xian made her cream cheese tarts. I failed my meringue too. I guess we over beat the egg white and sugar thus it’s foamy and coarse. However the lemon custard was good.

Cream cheese tart & lemon meringue tart

14 Responses to “Baking with Kim and Xian”

  1. Amrita Says:

    Mmmm….those tarts look so pretty…they don’t look like something went wrong. :-)

  2. hooisanlai Says:

    Thanks Amrita. They are still edible but not appetizing. Haha :D

  3. whojen Says:

    hahaha:D i wan food!!!
    feeed me!!:D
    * open mouth* wide

  4. hooisanlai Says:

    *scoop and put into your mouth* Ummm! Haha :D

  5. heather Says:

    i love those colors! so pretty!

  6. KK Says:

    I’m stealing 1 of the photos….. for my own post!
    Hahahaha!
    I’d love to print that, San!
    Get the original from you one day!

  7. hooixianlai Says:

    Haha! I ‘stole’ 4 photos instead! :D

    We shall try baking again. Practice makes perfect!

  8. Hillary Says:

    Cool idea to add color and flavor to your pancakes! I bet kids would love these.

  9. trutalent03 Says:

    Holy crap! Those look amazing! I think I will cook up some flavored or colored waffles for my wife and daughter this weekend. I think that would put a smile on both of their faces. Thanks for this great idea!

  10. anaylli Says:

    These are very cute pancakes! I would have never thought to add food coloring to them…I love it!

  11. hooisanlai Says:

    KK – Sure, my dear. Will send it to you ya ;)

    Xian – You’re right Xian. Practice makes perfect!

    Heather, anaylli – Thanks!

    Hilary – Yeah, kids would love it! Perhaps you can try cutting these pancakes into shapes to make them more interesting :D

    trutalent03 – Awesome! Hope your family love it :D

  12. buzzingbee Says:

    oh my…such a beautiful chocolate-base tarts….can teach me how to do??? *pls pls pls*!!!

  13. hooisanlai Says:

    Thanks Bee. These chocolate-based tarts are as hard as rocks! You ask Kim. Haha! I will try another recipe and teach you once I got it k.

  14. CutiMalaysia Says:

    I’m drooling right now :D


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

