Coconut Tarts

September 21, 2008

Coconut Tarts

Coconut Tart Recipe

For the crust, click here for the recipe.

For the coconut filling (makes about 7 tarts):

50g butter

50g sugar

1 egg

25g plain flour (sift)

25g desiccated coconut

1/2 tsp vanilla essence

Method

1. Cream butter and sugar.

2. Add in egg and vanilla essence. Stir well.

3. Add in sifted flour and desiccated coconut. Mix well.

4. Scoop mixture into pastry case.

5. Bake at 180 degrees C for about 20 minutes.

13 Responses to “Coconut Tarts”

  1. Madeline Says:

    Oh Yum! I love coconut so I’ll definitely be making these. I’m also addicted to almond so I might try this with a drop of almond extract or ground almonds. Delicious!

  2. hooisanlai Says:

    That’s a great idea Madeline :)

  3. sarah Says:

    love the tarts~!

  4. Elena Says:

    Do you pre-bake the crust or scoop the filling into the unbaked things? Thanks :)

  5. hooisanlai Says:

    Elena, I scoop the filling into the unbaked pastry :)

  6. Andrea Says:

    These look so good! I’ve never really thought of a coconut tart, but now it seems so natural. Great photographs, too!

  7. Amrita Says:

    Mmmm….those look so cute and yummy! Nice photography.

  8. pixen Says:

    so delicious! thanks for sharing the recipe and very nice photography!

  9. hooisanlai Says:

    Thanks Andrea :)

    Thanks Amrita :)

    No problem pixen and thanks again :)


  10. [...] for us?” My mind was puzzled for a moment then only I realized that the entry that won was my Coconut Tart recipe and there is a chance that my recipe will appear in the Rasa-Rasa Semenanjung book. This is [...]


  11. [...] Rasa-Rasa Semenanjung recipe book. My colleague got it and what a pleasant surprise to know that my recipe was featured under the ‘Manisan’ category. Yays! They translated my recipe into Malay [...]


  12. [...] coconut tarts, one of my favourite desserts [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

